Document Type


Publication Date



The piece “Seven infinitely short periods of (Winter) time” was composed in 2002 during my first Winter in the United States. It was my first Winter with snow (lots of snow, by the way; I was living in New Hampshire). The experience of below-freezing temperatures was something completely unfamiliar to me, accustomed as I was to the other side of the thermometer, the “above-melting” temperatures from Brazil. The names for each of the movements are merely insinuated on the score (they appear at the end of the last page of each movement: Musification, Old Tune, Basement, Wilting, What??, Snow Down, Final Basement). These names reflect to some extent the original connection of each piece with a place, a situation, a musical process, present or past.


Piano, Bb clarinet and violin. [ca. 12’00]

Premiered by the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble: Phyllis Kamrin (violin), Bruce Foster (clarinet), Eric Zivian (piano), Mill Valley, October 25, 2007. Winner of the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble Composition Contest 2007.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Included in

Composition Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.