Document Type

Book Review

Publication Date



MIT Press


One might imagine Joanna Brooks's American Lazarus: Religion and the Rise of African-American and Native American Literatures in the tradition of Jones and Allen's historical record straightening. Her detailed, lucidly presented narrative of contexts, communities, and texts (including that of Jones and Allen) is notable not only for its thorough explication of


Copyright © 2005 MIT Press. Reprinted with permission by MIT Press.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.